Culinary Cravings

Adventures in the kitchen with Emily

Buttermilk Apple Bread May 19, 2008

This recipe comes to us from Cocunut and Lime.

Here is my first video! Enjoy — ingredients and recipe below.

Ingredients

1 cup whole wheat flour

2 cups all purpose flour

3 T. brown sugar

1 T. baking soda

1/2 tsp. salt

1/2 tsp. cinnamon (i added a few shakes of nutmeg)

1/2 tsp. ginger

1/2 tsp. allspice

1 1/2 cups buttermilk

2 T. olive oil

1 egg

3/4 cup (equivalent to about one apple) apple, cubed

** As mentioned in the video, I used Granny Smith Apples, the original recipe used Pink Lady Apples. If you use tart apples, add more brown sugar.

Directions

Preheat oven to 350.

1. In large bowl, combine flours, salt, baking soda, ginger, cinnamon, nutmeg and allspice.

2. Add buttermilk, olive oil and egg to flour mixture and stir well.

3. Fold in apple cubes.

4. Butter and flour loaf pan. Pour mixture in and bake for about 30 minutes.

***

Enjoy warm with jam or just plain!

***

Lessons learned: Read the instructions! Just now as I step this post I see it says 1 Tablespoon of baking soda! I put in about 1/2 tsp. No good but noted for next time. Also as noted in the video, I didn’t add more sugar to counter the “tartness” of the apples. Despite these few slips, the bread turned out really well, once I added some jam or ate it with a thin slice of apple.

***

UPDATE: I made this recipe again last night because, as you saw in the video, it wasn’t quite right. So, I did what the original recipe called for and added more brown sugar (about 2-3 more tablespoons) to the flour mixture. I did this because I was using tart Granny smith Apples. Another thing I did to sweeten up the “flavor-flav” is after chopping the apples, I coated the cubes with cinnamon and brown sugar. In the end — a success!

 

3 Responses to “Buttermilk Apple Bread”

  1. julia freifeld Says:

    ADORABLE! ADORABLE! ADORABLE! I loved the music, editing technique, your commentary & explanations, and James waving from the other side of the window!!
    ADORABLE!
    Can’t wait for your next video!

  2. rachel Says:

    I used the mixture of flours because my husbands likes the taste of whole wheat flour. I just replaced 1/3 of the total flour with whole wheat so it wouldn’t be too heavy.

  3. rachel Says:

    Or rather my husband likes whole wheat flour in baked goods, not husbandS…I just have the one. Anyway, whole wheat flour can be heavy and overpowering so I generally just replace 1/4-1/3 of the total amount of flour with whole wheat so the flavor is there, but it has the same basic texture as bread with all white flour would have.


Leave a comment